top of page

Weirdo Wednesdays: My 2 Words to Live By!!

Wow, it's been a while since I've written a post! It's certainly been a super busy few months, and we're just trying to get the hang of our new schedules. I'm sure all of you can relate, each semester (thankfully this is my last!) I have a new class and work schedule which is so different from my previous semester's schedule that our entire nightly routine gets thrown off. This semester, between work and classes, I'm not even out until between 5 and 6:30 pm. I'm trying really hard to get into a good morning routine, things that I'm trying to incorporate are: the gym, feeding the cat (don't worry! I've always done this!!), scooping my kitty's box, making my bed, putting away clean laundry, and emptying the dishwasher that I (hopefully) ran the previous night. I feel like I need to be waking up at 5 am! But, if I waited until the end of the day to do all of these things, I wouldn't get to bed until midnight, and I'm definitely not a night owl. Kyle has also started a new job, is in the process of closing out his old job, and has officially entered "cut season," which means that he's starting new workout program and is basically always hungry ;).

PAella with plenty of chilantro!

So, how to we manage to stay healthy on top of our busy and every changing schedules? 2 words: ROUTINE and FLEXIBILITY!

Andouillle sausage is one of my favorites! Ading it to any meal can instantly make ti more flavorful, even just a big! Be careful though, because adding too much can seriously increase hthe calories & fat content

While our individual schedules are completely different from one day to the next, we can be pretty much guaranteed that every Monday will be the same, every Tuesday, etc. So we get in to a routine, but, it's also really important that we be flexible, because you never know when someone's going to get stuck in traffic, or the cat will be sick, or a function will come up. One thing that never changes is that I really like to sit down between 7& 7:30 pm. With that in mind, it's a little easier for me to move backwards through the night (again- I'm a weirdo)- whoever gets off work and out of the gym sooner (usually Kyle) runs to the grocery store to pick up any ingredients that we need, does home and starts to do the prep work for dinner. Whoever gets off later usually gets home and immediately sets the table and does a "half-time clean-up." This helps whoever is cooking be able to move more efficiently to finish the meal.

I love doing meall prep! having everything already chopped up makes it so much easier!

After dinner, we like to clean up right away! If we didn't all of the dishes would be left until the next day, we're really bad about getting back up once we've sat down! Because we eat dinner on the early side, we're usually done cleaning up well before 9 pm, with plenty of time to watch some TV, meal prep for our lunches, and: decide what we're going to have for dinner tomorrow!

I really love our routine, I feel like such an old lady, but it helps me plan my day. It definitely helps with keeping my head on straight, and with keeping track of my caloric intake for the day!

Okay, now what you really came for! My Weirdo Version of Paella! (pssst, click there to see the full recipe and instructions).. This is definitely weird because it is super light on the seafood, we use andouille sausage, chicken, and shrimp, paired with lots of veggies to make this delicious dish that can barely be called paella...

Katy's FoodieTips

#1- Trust Your Gut 

Literally. If you think adding a dash of cumin will make your dish taste better, do it! If you think something sounds icky, don't feel like you have to use it. {Ahem, fennel}​

​

#2- Be Adventurous 

Think of a country that you've always wanted to visit & look up a recipe from that part of the world. Try everything! Even if you think you've had something 20 times before, taste it again, you never know, you might like it better prepared a new way.​

​

​

bottom of page